FAQ

Here you can find frequently asked questions about inaugural lectures. 

What is an inaugural lecture?

Inaugural lectures are public lectures at UZH. An inaugural lecture traditionally marks and celebrates the appointment of a professor or privatdozent at UZH. 

 

Can I visit an inaugural lecture?

Inaugural lectures are public and directed at a wide audience. We are happy to welcome you at an inaugural lecture at UZH soon! You can find the current program here

What can I expect from an inaugural lecture?

Inaugural lectures offer a fascinating insight into the thematic diversity of UZH. Celebrating an inaugural lecture with family and colleagues represents a milestone in an academic career, which is why an apéro is usually offered after the lecture. 

Where and when do inaugural lectures take place?

Inaugural lectures are always held in the Aula of the UZH main building (KOL-G-201). The apéro takes place either in the Lichthof Nord, Lichthof Süd or in front of the Aula (one separate area per lecture). They are scheduled during the lecture period of the semester and happen either on Monday evenings or Saturday mornings. 

In addition, inaugural lectures will be broadcasted live via Vimeo during the actual date of the inaugural lecture.

The recordings of the inaugural lectures will also be published in a Vimeo collection afterwards. (Publication within three working days.)

 

Current dates and times of inaugural lectures can be found in the UZH Agenda.

How can I get a date for my inaugural lecture?

All candidates for an inaugural lecture are contacted by us in order of the semester of their appointment. They are given a selection of dates, from which they can choose a suitable one. Candidates are contacted at the beginning of the previous semester. However, due to the pandemic we are currently dealing with delays in this process. Please note - possible delays will not interfere with your habilitation process. 

How do I prepare for my inaugural lecture?

As candidate for an inaugural lecture, after choosing a date, you should do the following things:

  • Choose an interesting title for your lecture
  • Prepare your guest list
  • Organize your apéro
  • Do a trial run

You can find more information on planning and preparing your lecture at Planningand Course of Events.

Do I need to hold an inaugural lecture?

Inaugural lectures are part of the habilitation process and therefore usually mandatory.

The habilitation regulations of the relevant faculty state whether new members of the teaching staff are required to hold an inaugural lecture. For more information, please get in touch with your dean’s office.

 

I have a question about the habilitation process.

Please contact your faculty with any questions you may have about the habilitation process. 

Is there a live stream or recording?

Yes, there is a live stream, the link can be found in the Agenda.

Please note: The Vimeo livestream will be only available during the actual date of the inaugural lecture. The recording will be made available in a Vimeo collection afterwards. (Publication within three working days.)

 

If you do not want your inaugural lecture to be streamed or recorded, please contact the  Team Inaugural Lectures

What restrictions do I have to expect because of the pandemic?

UZH assumes that HS22 will take place in person. Accordingly, inaugual lectures are being planned as in person events as well. What other restrictions may apply cannot be said for sure, you can see what rules currently apply on the information page

What are podium debates?

Podium debates are being trialled as a new format for inaugural lectures in HS21. At these events, newly appointed professors and privatdozents discuss current issues. If and how this format will be continued will be decided after the evaluation of the trial period. Podium debates will happen again no earlier than HS22.

FAQ

Hier finden Sie häufig gestellte Fragen und Antworten zu den Antrittsvorlesungen.

Was ist eine Antrittsvorlesung?

Antrittsvorlesungen gehören zu den öffentlichen Vorlesungen an der UZH. Eine Antrittsvorlesung markiert und feiert traditionsgemäss den Antritt von neu berufenen Professor*innen sowie neu ernannten Privatdozierenden an der UZH.

Darf ich eine Antrittsvorlesung besuchen?

Antrittsvorlesungen sind öffentliche Veranstaltungen und richten sich an ein breites Publikum. Wir freuen uns, Sie demnächst an einer Antrittsvorlesung an der UZH begrüssen zu dürfen! Das aktuelle Programm finden Sie hier

Was bietet eine Antrittsvorlesung?

Die Antrittsvorlesungen bieten einen spannenden Einblick in die bunte Vielfalt der Lehre und Forschung an der UZH. Das Feiern einer Antrittsvorlesung mit Angehörigen und Fachkolleg*innen repräsentiert zudem einen Meilenstein in der akademischen Karriere und der Event wird daher meist mit einem anschliessenden Apéro abgerundet.

Wo und wann finden Antrittsvorlesungen statt?

Antrittsvorlesungen finden immer in der ehrwürdigen Aula des UZH Hauptgebäudes (KOL-G-201) statt, der anschliessende Apéro im Lichthof Nord, Lichthof Süd und vor der Aula (je eine separate Fläche pro Vorlesung). Terminlich sind sie auf die Vorlesungszeit des jeweiligen Semesters beschränkt und finden jeweils Montagabends oder Samstagvormittags statt. 

Zusätzlich werden Antrittsvorlesungen während des Termins live übertragen via Vimeo.

Die Aufzeichnungen der Antrittsvorlesungen werden ausserdem im Anschluss in einer Vimeo Sammlung veröffentlicht. (Bereitstellung innerhalb von drei Werktagen.)

Informationen zu aktuellen Terminen von Antrittsvorlesungen sind jeweils in der UZH Agenda aufgeschaltet.

Wie erhalte ich einen Termin für meine Antrittsvorlesung?

Alle Anwärter*innen für eine Antrittsvorlesung werden von uns in der Reihenfolge ihres Antrittssemesters kontaktiert und können direkt in einer Online-Terminumfrage den für Sie passenden Termin wählen.

Diese Terminumfragen werden in der Regel zu Beginn des vorhergehenden Semesters verschickt. Aufgrund des pandemiebedingten Rückstaus an Antrittsvorlesungen kommt es momentan zu Verzögerungen in der Terminanfrage. Eventuelle Verzögerungen haben keinen Einfluss auf das Habilitationsverfahren.

Ich bin unsicher, ob ich eine ATV halten muss.

Die Antrittsvorlesungen sind Teil des Habilitationsverfahrens und in der Regel obligatorisch. 

In der Habilitationsordnung der jeweiligen Fakultät ist angegeben, ob neue Dozierende verpflichtend eine Antrittsvorlesung halten müssen. Falls Sie eine Einzelfallprüfung wünschen, wenden Sie sich bitte an das für Sie zuständige Dekanat. 

Ich habe eine Frage zum Habilitationsprozess.

Bitte wenden Sie sich mit Fragen zum Habilitationsprozess an das Dekanat Ihrer Fakultät.

Welche Vorbereitungen muss ich für meine Antrittsvorlesung treffen?

Als Anwärter*in einer Antrittsvorlesung sollten Sie nach der erfolgreichen Terminwahl folgendes vorbereiten:

  • Einen packenden Titel für Ihre Vorlesung
  • Ihre Gästeliste
  • Die Organisation des Apéros
  • Ein Probedurchlauf mit dem Veranstaltungsdienst (optional)

Weiterführende Informationen zur Vorbereitung Ihrer Antrittsvorlesung finden Sie unter Planung sowie Ablauf und Probe.

Gibt es einen Live-Stream oder eine Aufzeichnung?

Ja, es gibt einen Live-Stream, der Link ist jeweils in der Agenda vermerkt.

Hinweis: Der Livestream ist nur während der Antrittsvorlesung via Vimeo abrufbar. Die Aufzeichnung der Antrittsvorlesung wird anschliessend in einer Vimeo-Sammlung veröffentlicht. (Bereitstellung innerhalb von drei Werktagen).

 

Falls Sie nicht möchten, dass Ihre Antrittsvorlesung gestreamt oder die Aufzeichnung veröffentlich wird, bitten wir Sie, mit uns Kontakt aufzunehmen Team Antrittsvorlesung

Welche pandemiebedingten Einschränkungen gelten an den Antrittsvorlesungen?

Die UZH geht davon aus, dass das HS22 in Präsenz stattfinden wird. Dementsprechend sind auch die Antrittsvorlesungen als Präsenzveranstaltung geplant. Die jeweils geltenden Regeln sind auf der entsprechenden Informationsseite festgehalten. 

Was sind Podiumsdiskussionen?

Das Format Antrittsvorlesungen als Podiumsdiskussion befindet sich im HS21 in der Testphase. Neu antretende Professor*innen und Privatdozierende diskutieren an diesen Veranstaltungen aktuelle Fragestellungen. Ob dieses Format weitergeführt wird und in welcher Form wird nach Auswertung der Testphase entschieden. Podiumsdiskussionen werden frühestens im HS22 wieder durchgeführt.